Charles Sturt University
Charles Sturt University

Welcome to the School of Community Health

Our Purpose

To work in partnership with our communities to provide quality allied health education and research

Our Values

  • Collaboration
  • Inclusion
  • Respect
  • Trustworthiness
  • Empathy
  • Forward thinking

The School of Community Health has a diverse range of staff who work together in the pursuit of excellence in teaching, research and community engagement.

Our five professional courses are in the areas of:

  • Health and Rehabilitation Science
  • Occupational Therapy
  • Physiotherapy
  • Podiatry
  • Speech Pathology

We are strengthened through additional expertise from Biomedical Scientists (Anatomy and Physiology) who are integral to the school.

In Teaching we work to enable students to reach their full potential so that they enhance the communities in which they work as graduate health professionals.

  • We aim for graduates of the School to be able to work in national and international settings, but have specific skills for regional and rural practice; and
  • We use a range of innovative teaching practices that seek to foster our graduates' ability to work in the current and future health environment.

Our school has received citations and awards for excellence in teaching.

Our Research  strengths have been developed through cooperative methods that link researchers from a range of backgrounds with the communities that we form a part of.

We are proud of our Community Engagements that have led to success in gaining nationally competitive research funding from the Australian Research Council (ARC). "The ARC's mission is to advance Australia's capacity to undertake quality research that brings economic, social and cultural benefit to the Australian community". Australian Research Council 2006.

Staff in the School of Community Health are committed to work with regional and rural communities to train and graduate future health professionals; we use research to find answers to community questions; and we work together to support people to become agents for positive change within their community.

The School operates across three campuses in New South Wales, Albury-Wodonga Campus on the state border between New South Wales and Victoria, Orange Campus in the Central West and Port Macquarie on the North Coast.

Top of page